Bright Light or Candle Light?

Rod Thomas - Bright Light Bright Light
Rod Thomas – Bright Light Bright Light

I have been eagerly awaiting the release of Bright Light Bright Lights debut album Make Me Believe In Hope and the day is finally here.

Now I tend to get excited by artists and have a huge belief in their ability – this has happened with the likes of Little Boots and Cocknbullkid. The former has been unpicked and the latter I had a public argument with resorting in complete deletion of her work. Needless to say both have had no longevity and have left me disappointed.

I love Rod Thomas work and his music is incredibly high tempo with huge overtones and samples from the late 80’s and 90’s. This is great but sadly not enough to carry this album.

I have been a long standing fan of Disco Moment and Love, Pt. II and these stand out well on the album as does Immature and Feel It but that’s the best bits.

The rest of the album is a melancholic mix of loss and regret. I know the life of a single gay man can be a very lonely place and gay relationships are tougher than most but if I felt like Rod I would have topped myself by now. Rod should feel lucky he can cover these feelings in his songs but the mix of low content and high beats makes it quite schizophrenic.

I was really disappointed in the album version of Cry At Films which was one of the best singles of last year. I have no idea why the production chose to rework the vocals but it takes away all depth and feeling from the song.

Don’t get my wrong this isn’t a bad album but I think I am too used to all the prerelases and the albums just hasn’t delivered what I had expected. Of course the reviews have been great and Rod deserves praise for his debut but it just doesn’t lift me as much as I was expecting it to.

Rod (@brightlightx2), I love your work I am just disappointed and turned off by some of the album on my debut listen. It may be that I know a lot of this album and the virgin listener may take a lot more away from their first listen then I. I am just a little disappointed, which judging by your lyrics, so are you.

I like it, I’m just not blown way by it… That said I will continue to play it and I am sure it will grow on me. I will also guarantee to continue to wear my Dicso Moment tee wherever I go.

Still one thing remains, Rod you have a very cute bum!

Download Immature, Moves, Disco Moment, Feel It and Waiting for the Feeling.
Make Me Believe in Hope: 7.5 / 10.

UPDATE Of course this has changed as it’s one of the most played albums in years!  I love everything about it – 10/10 Rod 😉

Thanks for your comment!

