Canned Heat

This was my first 10k training run after returning to work and a lot has changed. The evenings are getting darker earlier, it’s getting cooler and I have to find more time to run in the evening to accommodate my new training routine.

My new jacket
My new Adidas AdiViz Jacket

Thankfully none of this stopped me this evening and I gave it my all and had a brilliant run.

Tonight gave me the opportunity to try out my new Adidas AdiViz high visibility running jacket and it didn’t disappoint. I felt a little weird wearing it when I left the house as it was still light but I needed it on my return as the sun had set over the horizon. If drivers don’t see me in this jacket then they are obviously not looking.

It’s great living here in Colchester. As the sun set I had a fantastic view to inspire me and to run on – of course a partly set sun can cause you to not be able to see ahead and I nearly ran into a poor woman waiting for the bus!

Tonight’s fastest song was Canned Heat by Jamiroquai which makes me chuckle as it did inspire me to run faster. It also helped me overtake a fellow runner which is a first for me. I usually don’t see any other runners whilst I am out but tonight I passed a young lady who was out on her evening run. I overtook her coming down the steep Braiswick Hill, I am not sure which route she took as I didn’t see her again.

Tonight's run
Tonight’s run

I’ve slowly learnt not to drink too much when running which sounds odd given how much I used to think I needed a drink when I started. I used to sweat an awful lot too but that doesn’t seem to be the case so much now. It may be due to the brief spell I had running in Cyprus or it might be the dip in temperature here but this feels like an improvement to me.

I’ve reduced what I drink to sips because I find any more than this and I am either feeling congested or want to throw up. Ironically drinking when running seems counter productive and all the articles I’ve read about as little as possible seems to work. I think it’s natural to want to swig as much as you can mid run but your body has to do something with it and its not great to have it all swishing about in your system. I will of course drink when I need it but not huge lung bucketfuls!

I was determined to hit the hill again today and thought it might be a bigger challenge now that I am commuting again but this isn’t so. I hit the hill and tackled it with ease. In fact I was listening to Canned Heat on the hill so it proves I am getting better and better.

My cadence seems to stick around 78 spm but this isn’t bothering me. My pace is picking up and I am running much further than I ever imagined and am really happy to have added a bit more distance to this run again. I am up to 7.52 km this evening.

I may have run further but had to stall at the beginning as Richard called with a FaceTime call, something that now works in 3G. I think it took him a while to realise he couldn’t see me as my iPhone was strapped to my arm!

Loved it tonight. Feel invigorated again.

Remember I am running the MoRunning 10k in November for Alzheimer’s Society. Please sponsor me if you can.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. John says:

    Nice one, sounds like all the hard work is paying off.

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks John. It does feel that way 🙂

  2. hemingwayrun says:

    I’m gonna have to go out and have a look for a jacket today. When I finished work and ran home on Monday, it was light. Yesterday I finished work and it was dusk.

    1. Keith says:

      I can recommend the jacket I got. It’s light and roomy but keeps the wind and rain out. Nice amount of pockets too.

Thanks for your comment!

