And he’s off!

The snows gone. The rains stopped. It's blowing a gale but I got out there.

I completed a 35 minute walk run combination and am very happy with my results. Considering I have not been running for a fortnight due to the weather I think I did well.

The gales didn't help though. They literally took my breath away twice and I had to stop to sort out my breathing but I got there!

Things are very wet and muddy out there and there is still some ice in places but I managed to do some big loops around New Braiswick Park.

Fastest song of the run was The Continental by Prince.

My calves, ankles and feet are a bit sore but a post run stretch on the foam roller has helped iron out the knots.

Still not sure about running the half marathon though…

As I am at the beginng of the year I wonder if its worth amending my running measure from metric to imperial so that I can start to focus on miles run rather than kilometres. This will possibly mess with my head but it might help me physiologically towards the half marathon. Does anyone think this is a good idea?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nachthawk says:

    Well done… keep it up…

  2. John says:

    Nice one Keith. I read your post on being apprehensive about running a half. There are loads of events out there, so why not wait and see where you are in 3-6 months time? This will give you plenty of time to get back in the groove of training. And we might even get some decent weather too!

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks John. I am sure I will be fine. I’d love to wait before I sign up but I’ve drop myself in it by inviting friends to run the Royal Parks Half in October. I am sure by then I will be in a better frame of mind.

Thanks for your comment!

