Birthday run…

So I've been out for a run and it’s the first birthday in which I have done this.

I wasn't planning to run today especially as its my birthday. I missed last nights run as I got in a little late but I returned from London at a reasonable time, it was sunny but cold so I thought it might as well get out there.

This is also the first run I have completed after having a drink. I'm not a big drinker at all but I enjoyed a lovely glass of champagne with a friend of mine today and a glass with lunch.

I wasn't sure how this would affect my running but was surprised that it had very little affect at all. I wasn't tipsy. If I were I wouldn't have run. Lunch and my journey home helped soak up the drink so I felt fine on the run.

As it was light I was determined to get out and have a good run and head out of New Braiswick Park and run the hills I used to. This wasn't the best move as there was a very cold wind but once I got going I didn't really notice it.

I was fiddling with my settings on iSmoothRun in the week and changed the unit of measurement to miles rather than kilometres. I did this in preparation for the half marathon I have signed up to do in October.

I was taken aback when the progress was slow to come and was in miles but I think it may have helped me a little. I have really hung up on the amount of KMs I am running but as the measurement has changed I have a whole new set of paces and times to work towards beating.

It's probably good that I have made the switch now and as ever iSmoothRun run has been really helpful and changed all my runs to miles so I can see what I achieved last year.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. John says:

    I switched to miles when I was training for my half marathon last year.

    1. Keith says:

      I guess I simply have to get used to the switch. Shouldn’t take long 🙂

  2. Nachthawk says:

    Well – happy birthday…

      1. Nachthawk says:

        Most welcome… and thx for having a look…

      2. Keith says:

        You’re welcome.

Thanks for your comment!

