The view from above

I was lucky enough to win a ticket to take a tour up the Shard in London.

The Shard is Western Europe’s tallest building and has recently opened at the sight of London Bridge Station.

As soon as I found out I was heading up the Shard (at 6 meters a second) I charged my camera to ensure I was prepared.

We visited at 5 pm so it was light and heading to dusk by the time I left at 5:45.

If you are in London I would recommend taking a trip to the top but plan ahead as it’s busy and save your pennies as it’s £25 each!

The full set of photos can be viewed here.

Trains circle London Bridge station
Trains circle London Bridge station
The Thames and the City of London
The Thames and the City of London
HMS Belfast, Tower of London and Tower Bridge
HMS Belfast, Tower of London and Tower Bridge
Emily and I enjoying the view
Emily and I enjoying the view
Looking towards the sky
Looking towards the sky
Hamish contemplating the view
Hamish contemplating the view
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Nachthawk says:

    What a view… brilliant. I only got as high as the Dartford Bridge and that gives you a good look around… but this is nothing to the view that you must have had… cool !

    1. Keith says:

      It’s great up there. You can see for 20 miles apparently.

      1. Nachthawk says:

        On a good day when there is no smog – you mean… 🙂

  2. Wow this is amazing. Excellent photos, next time we in London (hopefully soon) we will do this. Ivan

    1. Keith says:

      It’s brilliant up there. You have a view of so much. To be honest I want to go up again as I think I saw too much through the lens.

      If you visit I’ll go up with you 🙂

Thanks for your comment!

