Running rings around London

KTopRouteToday I teamed up with a very good friend of mine and went for a run in central London in my lunch break.

According to Nike I ran a famous route which started at the office, across Blackfriars bridge, down the South Bank to the London Eye, across Westminster Bridge and back along the Embankment.

This was just a shade over 4K and appears to be my best 4K to date with a good pace.

Paul was very kind and held back when I needed it (he’s so super fit he ran home after we finished and had been to the gym this morning!).

It was a little busy around the Eye and Westminster with tourists. This is very unusual for me as I run in a rural spot at home and see very few people. Thankfully Paul was ahead some of the way so I followed the path he cut through the crowds.

I did take the lead on some of the run and found myself ducking and diving around the various two legged obstacles.

Oddly running up the Embankment and the traffic is other runners coming the other way.
KTodyasRouteinLondon

I definitely want to run London again as this was an exhilarating run and of course there are lots of sights on this route.

I enjoyed running with Paul too – made a change from the normal head space of music and electronic coaches that I am used to. With Paul I kept going and stopped worrying/focusing on my inner monologue of doubt.

He doesn’t know it yet but I’d like to squeeze in at least one run a week I. London as its pretty exhilarating, it’ll get me used to running with Paul and it’ll help me focus.

It was great to run midway through my day as I’d had a shit morning so this allowed me to switch off.

Now I’ve toned up I’m not so self conscious on the work showers either!

I hope we can get some more runs in together before the Richmond 10K on the 1st June and I am confident I will crack the 10K in good form.

Bring on the next run ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great place to run…

    1. Keith says:

      Indeed and outside the office too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a lovely route. I’m looking forward to running some of this route when I do the Bupa 10,000 at the end of the month

    1. Keith says:

      Cool. I’ve run Waterloo and the millennium bridge too. There are some great spots to run around the Thames even in the heart of the city.

Thanks for your comment!

