Giving it all my Heart : PLEASE SPONSOR ME!

on

Please Sponsor me at virginmoneygiving.com/keithtomlinson

I have been thinking about this for so long and after some deliberation and a false start I can confirm I have a place in this years Royal Parks Half Marathon in London.

This is my first ever half marathon and I have to say I am more than a little bit nervous. I thought I was nervous about running the Mo Run 10K last year but I am more than a little daunted by this prospect.

That said it has been just over a year since I started running so to contemplate a half marathon last May would have been laughable. I really am amazed at how far I have come in such a short space of time (regardless of the winter set backs).

I have a great support network though, Richard is fully behind my decision and understands why I feel the need to run this Half Marathon.

You may recall I cojoulled my friends to sign up for the race with the intention to run as a group. Sadly I did not get a place and some of them did which left me feeling a little guilty.

I have been thinking about a charity to support as I can only get a charity place now and with the recent events (let’s call them 2013 events) I now know the charity I want to support.

I am therefore announcing I am running for the British Heart Foundation on the 6th October.

I have a fundraising target and I would very much like all your support to not only help me reach this target but to help me raise as much as I can to help such a worthwhile charity.

My mum was recently taken ill and ended up going into hospital for an angioplasty (her fourth such operation).

The maternal side of the family all suffer from coronary problems and my mum has been through the wars the last couple of years. Mum however has been fortunate and survived all of her procedures – her siblings have not been so lucky.

My parents have found help in the literature and support the BHF offer and I have had my mind put at rest by the informative and supportive information on their web site.

It is because of this (and many others reasons ) that I have chosen to run for the British Heart Foundation.

Paul and I are already working on getting me up to pace for the Richmond 10K at the beginning of June and I am sure Janice, Enda and Em (to name but a few) will do all they can to encourage me towards my 21K target.

I have no doubt my friends will support me and my training efforts and I am sure those who I talked into running the Royal Parks Half will be pleased to hear that I will be running alongside them (or maybe a little behind them as they are all super fit!).

I will charge up the Kindle and re read the Half Marathon Guide I downloaded months ago and start to think about how I can achieve my running target. I am however not going to obsess over it as the race is not until October and I have more than enough time to train.

I am asking for your support to help me reach my target and I am sure you won’t let me down. I have set up a Virgin Money Giving page to raise funds online as they do not take a cut in the proceeds (unlike Just Giving). I would like to see every penny I raise to go to the charity.

And before you ask, no I am not planning on running a full marathon in the future!

Please sponsor me.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Good on you. Excellent role model Sir. Ivan.

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks Ivan. Nice of you to day so 😃 I’ll do my best.

  2. Nachthawk says:

    Like your decision to run the half marathon, very inspiring… did you run over the weekend or just take it easy… 🙂

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you. I took it easy this weekend as I did my three runs last week.

      1. Nachthawk says:

        Isn’t it well for some… 🙂

Thanks for your comment!

