All Change

My first run following Saturdays 10K and its all change tonight…

New trainers – my old Lunarglides were starting to hurt my feet but I decided to wait until I completed the race to change them (I did clock up 318km/198 miles in them).

I can certainly feel the difference. There is definitely more bounce and obviously more cushioning as a few times I scuffed the floor whilst running.

I have a pain in the ball of my right foot which is where I am getting support I wasn't with the old pair. It'll be a matter of time but I am sure I will get used to them.

They are a bit bright though, I may need to get them a bit dirty!

This will probably be my last pair of LunarGlides as Nike seem to be discontinuing them. Looks like I will be moving to Flyknits after all!

I don't actually start my half marathon training until next week but have a week of crap and upheaval in work so have decided to start from tonight.

It wasn't an intense run tonight as I had to do 30 minutes at a steady pace. This seemed ideal for the new shoes and was just about right to run following the 10K.

Given the shoes and the fact I only had a days break I am feeling remarkably well except for a minor niggle here or there. After the Mo Run I was in discomfort. Just shows how much I have grown since November.

I think I may try to find some more 10Ks before the half marathon though to give me as much experience as possible before race day.

Although (above) Nike is reporting in KM I have made the switch to miles to ensure that I am running at a measure that makes sense for the half marathon. As the first set of runs are based on time rather than distance it'll give me chance to get used to not running in KMs and mentally waiting for my usual distance markers to come up during the run.

I am also running different routes to shake things up a bit. By August I'll be running 10 miles so I'll need to get some new routes sorted otherwise I'll go mad. There's plenty to do around here, I just need to branch out and forget my old loop methodology. I'm not sure I will branch out as far as Paul did when he ran here but then again 10 miles is some distance!

The training with Gipis did ok but I am going to move to a half marathon training plan I have seen on Walk Jog Run. This allows me three runs a week and up to four when it gets full on in August.

I can tell that something triggered in me on Saturday and I kept on my feet today, ignoring any doubts or concerns. In fact to be fair I didn't have any. I just got out there, managed to program iSmoothRun to the right pace and apart from a couple points where it told me to go faster (mainly as I went under the railway bridge) I was on pace throughout the run and enjoyed it.

As I wasn't held back by concerns over the distance etc I was free to just feel my way around the run and enjoy myself. It was a lovely evening and I was really glad I got out and running.

I think juggling all my running around work is going to be tough but I am determined to crack the training and complete the half marathon in a time I will be proud of.

Fastest track this run was When a Fire Starts to Burn by Disclosure. If you want a great album for running you cannot go wrong with this English Deep House gem. It certainly kept me motivated!

Roll on the next run (which will be in London with Paul).

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post and again well done on your run on Saturday. Like the shoes look very comfortable and how does that saying go, these shoes were made for running…. Ivan

  2. Sean Kent says:

    Good blog.

    Just out of interest – how many miles do you think a pair of running shoes are good for?

    1. Keith says:

      Many thanks Sean.

      It’s say about 300 kms but its dependant on the shoes, the type of running and your running style.

Thanks for your comment!

