Bye Bye Fuelband

on

ImageFor the past year all of my activity, my movements and my running have been tracked by my Nike Fuelband.

I really liked the idea of a bracelet that would allow me to become more active and to track how I am doing day-to-day.

The Fuelband fitted this need perfectly and I have not been without the rubbery black band on my wrist for most of the year (except when the original one broke and I had to wait a couple of weeks to get a replacement).

I was going to stop wearing it when I reach 2 million fuel points but to be honest it is now redundant now that I have my Garmin Forerunner 210.

A colleague of mine is also considering purchasing the Fuelband from me therefore it has given me more of an excuse to take it off and box it up.

Yesterday was the first day (apart from the aforementioned faulty period) that I chose not to wear it since last June.  It’s been to Spain twice, Cyprus, Devon etc.  It’s joined me on numerous runs and has helped me consider how fit I am on days (in the winter) when I don’t leave the house.

It was a great tool to help motivate me and as I moved from beginner to runner the Fuelband was there to guide me and to incentivize me to become more active.

It is odd how a small LED display can motivate you to be fitter but it does work.

As you can see from my current tally that I have been very active in the past year and have amassed a lot of stats from this little rubber band:

Image

Although it’s a great motivator I am reminded that I generally am more active than most people I know and this was evident when I took part in the Global Corporate Challenge last year.  I walk an average of 14,000 steps a day (regardless of if I am commuting to work or not).  I beat my colleagues in most cases by 60%!

Thanks to some advice from David I know I can continue to keep my records up to date on the Nike site, I simply won’t do that as regularly now as I will use Garmin Connect as my base for all my training needs.

Nike you have made getting into fitness fun and I have to say thanks for the cool little gadget that has inspired and motivated me (and several others who seemed to follow me into the Fuelband world due to my updates on the blog/Twitter and Facebook).

It’s simply time to move on…

5 Comments Add yours

  1. John says:

    Nice one Keith.

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks John 🙂

  2. 278toBoston says:

    That is a lot if fuel. Congrats.

Thanks for your comment!

