Cracking 11 KM

on

ImageTodays run schedule called for 7 miles and this sounded daunting as I got up at 6:15.  I was determined to get out there and get on with it and I did.

It was much cooler and a little breezy this morning which caused me to be a bit slow and bunged up at the beginning but once I launched the odd snot rocket I was on my way!

I ran a mix of road and trail today and had to stop mid way through one of the fields to get through a herd of cows.  A few of the ladies were a bit nervy and I was unsure the best way to tackle a herd of cattle so I spoke to them softly and edged my way through.  Thankfully they parted out of my way without too much commotion as I needed them to clear a path to get me through the gate to the next field.

I did see a badger out at the start of the run – I guess this is late for a badger but it was a joy to see.

ImageMy pace was good and I decided not to be dictated by technology etc and simply found a rhythm and kept with it.  I was supposed to run an easy run and it’s just what I did.

This wasn’t my quickest 10K but that was never the plan.  I managed to have a mix of terrain, speeds and inclines today which proved all worthwhile and nothing daunted me.

I did switch on Nike Running today, not to track but simply to see if I could get some cheers en route and thanks to Romilla, Vicky and Vanessa I did – hearing those help spur me on 🙂

In fact except for the odd moment when I was talking to myself (checking my conversational pace), I was zoned in on other things such as thinking about what to pack for my trip into London later today.

This is my longest run today but it’s a record that should not stick around for too long as I have longer and longer runs coming up.

The best thing is I have done it and I enjoyed it 😉

Now to do some chores and get ready to head into London to see Goldfrapp tonight 😉

Image

Image

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. John says:

    Nice run Keith! I did 4 miles last night, it was red hot so it was a good job I put sunscreen on. I didn’t hydrate enough at work so had a headache for the last couple of miles.

    1. Keith says:

      That’s not good. Hydration wasn’t an issue today as it was breezy and much cooler. I ha a decent meal last night which seems to have helped.

      1. John says:

        I’m going to run 10K in Rhodes (not an event) so I thought it would be good preparation. So lesson learnt, hydrate!

      2. Keith says:

        Indeed. Best to plan ahead. Good luck.

  2. Congrats on your new longest distance!

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you Michael

Thanks for your comment!

