A run of two parts

on

I set out tonight to do a new routine based on the plan I got from the British Heart Foundation and Full Potential.  The timings are much the same but the effort and plan is slightly different.

Tonight was a run of threshold work and I was very pleased with myself that I managed to set up the Garmin without the need for the instructions.

ImageIt was incredibly hot today, the temperature was 31 but it felt like 36!  I took a walk to the wood and decided to do loops as most of it was in the shade.

I started the Garmin and got into a jog, all was going well.  I finished the 15 minute warm up jog but the Garmin didn’t start the intervals.  I stopped.  Fiddled with the watch but couldn’t seem to get it to move to the next interval.

I decided to stop and reset the watch.  I did this and started on the interval sections.  It was only when I came out of the interval sections to the cool down that I saw the instructions on-screen to press lap button at end of interval session.  This is guess is what I should have done at the end of the warm up session!  You live and learn.

Of course this means my Garmin stats are screwed tonight as I have two sets.  I did also track the run with Nike just to get some cheers (sadly I didn’t receive any 😦 ).  I am glad I did track with Nike as at least I have an overall pace and a complete distance.

Image

I am a little perplexed though as the Nike app drained my battery tonight.  I carry my iPhone in case of emergencies and only put the Nike on Saturday and tonight for some emotional boost with regards to the cheering (thanks again for not giving me any tonight 😦  I am not bitter honest!).  Anyway for some reason my phone had only 8% battery left and with all the running I have done with iSmoothRun etc I have never experienced that.

My friend Enda had the same thing happen when he ran at the Olympic Park on Sunday (yes you heard that right!).  I am not sure he used Nike to run with but his battery gave up the ghost before he finished his run.  I wonder if it is anything to do with the heat?

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 20.35.00

I am sure I could merge the two Garmin routes together somehow – anyone got any bright ideas how I can do that via Garmin Connect?

I must have been mad to do threshold work in this heat but to be honest I’d have been mad to do any running in this heat.  The trees did offer lots of protection though and as I am now permanently running with no music, I can spend more time listening to my body and my breathing.

It was a hard run tonight and the intervals were very tough – I managed them though and am happy I got them out-of-the-way.  I think I may stick with this new plan and see how I get along.

I felt the old plan simply had me plodding along and I know with half marathon training it’s about getting the miles in but I do want to try to speed up and improve my pace.  The coach said he reckoned I could run the half marathon in 2 hours which I am sure is achievable but with the heat and my current route I am not sure how this is possible.  I guess I need the weather to cool down and to switch back to road running as the even surface may put me in a better position to improve.

I have received some more sponsorship over the past coupe of days.  Some from friends, some from colleagues and some from complete strangers online and readers of my blog. Thank you all so much for supporting me and the British Heart Foundation.

If you have not done so already please be so kind as to reward all this effort and sponsor me British Heart Foundation.  I will be running ing the Royal Parks Half Marathon in October.  Thank you.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. eguinan says:

    I think the heat has something to do with it as all my devices are draining faster at the moment. The other thing on Sunday was network congestion: my phone (and those of over 10,000 others!) was constantly trying to connect and upload/download etc. I should have put it in flight mode, as the network was buggered from about 9:30 til after the race.

    1. Keith says:

      You probably right and good thought re the network polling. It’s amazing how it all adds up and drains the battery isn’t it. We take it all for granted.

  2. Dash says:

    I’m not sure about my phone battery lasting less time but I definitely wear out quicker in this weather! I feel bad because I spent the last few months hoping for a decent summer, now I just want to skip August so I can train in better temperatures.

    1. Keith says:

      I think we need early 20’s with a cool breeze and that would be ideal. Ultimately though we are never happy are we!

Thanks for your comment!

