Almost there…

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 14.05.04My planned run for today was 9 miles. I managed 5.

Quite soon into the run I noticed my left knee and ankle were a little sore
So I watched my pace and decided not to push it too far.

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 14.05.20Annoyingly the main part of Castle Park is closed for a pet show so I had to run the outside of the park which meant the big steep hill. My ankle didn’t thank me and I knew I would t complete all 9 miles today.

I kept going and put myself through a brand new course covering the leisure centre, Castle Park, town centre and around Avenue of Remembrance. Beach home.

An hour later I was feeling ok but decided this was the point to stop today. I had cleared 8.14 km or 5 miles so was 4 miles short of my target. Not bad considering this wasn’t the easiest of runs.

I think I caught my knee when I slammed on the brakes on the bike yesterday and my ankle pain came from the new shoes I wore Friday. Not excuses just explanations. I’m happy I squeezed out 5 miles though.

Now to enjoy the rest of Sunday.

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 14.05.26

8 Comments Add yours

  1. John says:

    Better to air on the side of caution. It can be boring being sensible sometimes!

    1. Keith says:

      Indeed. I’m not disappointed about breaking the goal. I’m happy that I can now see that there is a point when one should not push so hard and realise when’s a good time to stop. 😃

  2. Balance good balance. Hope you are enjoying that new bike as well. Ivan

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks Ivan. Not out on the bike today. Giving myself a rest following the run.

  3. Nachthawk says:

    That sucks… pain is never good… better take it easy for a couple of days… sorry to read that you’re injured…

    1. Keith says:

      I’m not bit feeling too bad now to be honest. I think it simply over did it. Taking it easy was the best thing to do.

      I am going to take a couple days off to let things settle.

      Thanks for the kind wishes.

      1. Nachthawk says:

        you do that… your body has a way of telling you… so a couple of days off should do you the world of good… and after you are as good as new… you’ll see… have a great evening and a great week…

Thanks for your comment!

