Review: Mizuno Wave Evo Ferus Trail Running Shoes

The Mizuno Evo Ferus is a light and functional trail shoe, which gives good control, and responsive feedback whilst running.

Image

The Evo Ferus shoes are very light and at walking pace appear very soft underfoot while providing good cushioning and flexibility. Imagine a pair of comfy slippers merged with tyres and you get the idea!

I tested these on mixed ground through woodland and found them to be very responsive. Each step allowing you to feel exactly what was under foot but giving enough support and cushion to protect.

The shoes are designed with a removable sock to allow them to breathe and the mesh upper is very open for air to circulate but this left my feet feeling exposed and wind would whip through as would the odd bit of moisture.

The toe box was generous and while running it felt there was actually too much room. The shoes did bend and flex well in harmony with my foot but there were times when I would kick or tread on something before I would normally register it as the shoe felt longer than my foot.

Mid run the shoes became hard giving me pain in my knees and calves. The cushioning seemed to disappear and it was tough to continue (I gave up before I was due to finish).

Verdict

The Mizuno Wave Evo Ferus is a great terrain shoe for those with mid foot strike. Light and practical, these are well designed for trail running. I think they are best avoided if you want a softer ride or more protection from the elements. 3/5

Read my review on The Running Bug

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Reu says:

    It is awesome list.I wasn’t aware of this feature of this article..thanks!

  2. I’m a mid-foot runner and very light on my feet so I don’t think I would have any feet problem for the longer runs. The Mizuno Levitas, for example, are the only perfect shoe for me, ever!
    The cushion felt odd when I first put them on but has proven itself after many miles. As has the roomie toe box for eliminating foot pain.

    The Levitas get my street running but I have been relying on Salomon Slabs for trail running/racing. However, as I am a half-marathon type of runner I prefer zero drop — better for my knees although I do understand the slight heel lift is an advantage for trail descending — so I think I am going to try these.

    Thanks for the review.

    1. Keith says:

      Michael thanks for your feedback and your personal account of the shoes. I am happy my review has helped in some way and glad you liked the Mizunos. Happy running.

  3. YoungRunner says:

    My first impressions of the Ferus:
    Wide toebox, very soft underfoot, glove like fit with stretchy upper which is very breathabe.
    The heel is a bit loose, not good traction especially on scree. This shoe is for running about up to 2 hours. After that time i start feel pain in the ball of my foot. My favorite trail shoe would be a Ferus with more cushioning.

    1. Keith says:

      I agree. I think the tow box is simply too big and the shoes too soft.

Thanks for your comment!

