Review: New Balance 1260v3 Running Shoes


The 1260v3 stability shoes are incredibly light but still strong and supportive.

Image

Aside from the striking design and reflective strips, the first thing I noticed about these shoes was the size seemed larger than usual. But as soon as I put them on I knew they were a good fit, offering plenty of room and comfort. The toe box is generous and there was sufficient space to wiggle my toes.

Thanks to the new eyelets New Balance has added which go further behind the tongue, I was able to tie the shoes quite high up to strap my foot in to prevent any slipping.

On first wear the shoes feel soft and very padded but this is not the case when running. There was a noticeable harder layer between my feet and the road and it felt that I was running on a different surface. This felt odd at first but I soon got used to it, and it was never uncomfortable. And most importantly thanks to the Integrated ‘T-Beam’ there was no noticeable roll in my foot as I ran.

The 1260v3 also has a hefty sole with deep ridges which helps the shoes grip the road making me feel like I was sticking to the floor.

On the plus side these shoes offer a generous fit for comfort; an effective stability system enabling you to run without worrying about your gait, and they grip to the road like glue!

The only downsides are that some may find the grip a bit too intense; the styling is not for everyone, and the padding can be a little off-putting as you cannot feel the road clearly enough.

Verdict

A nice shoe with great stability features and excellent grip. The styling may not be to everyone’s taste but these trainers are worth testing as they offer maximum padding, minimal roll in the foot and are incredibly light. I may swap my Nikes in favour of these!

Read my review on The Running Bug

3 Comments Add yours

Thanks for your comment!

