Kickstarter: Keybud

on

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 12.29.59

One of the things that annoys me slightly when running is what to do with my house key.  I am lucky that I only have a single key to carry but I am never happy with the solutions I have for such an important item.

I have pockets in the back of some of my shorts (front of others) but I am worried that the key could work its way out and constantly spend my run patting the pocket to make sure it’s there – possibly getting me some strange looks from onlookers in the process!

I bought a shoe pocket when I first started to run but that lasted all of two runs as I was paranoid it would come off my trainers, it’s now used to store my key in the house with my kit!

I also tried a Y-Fumble arm band which does a fairly good job but it’s uncomfortable and fiddly – I prefer to use it for gels rather than anything else and to be honest its a bit big for a single key.

So I was browsing around Kickstarter and came across the Keybud who are looking for funding.

Screen Shot 2013-10-27 at 12.29.31

It’s a very simple concept in that you have a wrist band made of silicon and your key fits into a cap which snaps into place.  This ensures that the key is locked in place and is always accessible.  It also ensures that you don’t have to worry about loosing it from pockets etc.

I like the idea and the concept so I decided to back the project.  It’ll be interesting to see if they get their full backing and I look forward to using it on future runs.  If the project comes to fruition I will make sure I write a review 😉

Why not pop over to Kickstarter and take a look – if you like the project why not back it too?

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great idea. Hope all good with you. Ivan

    1. Keith says:

      It’s quite neat isn’t it.

      How are you?

      Keith

      >

      1. All good just had a rough two weeks but otherwise great.

      2. Keith says:

        Sorry to hear that

  2. eguinan says:

    I like it. I need two keys to get inside though and it doesn’t look like it can handle that. There’s an idea for their next product!

    1. Keith says:

      It’s a nice idea isn’t it. Why not drop them a line?

      Keith

      >

  3. eguinan says:

    I just may do that 😀

  4. Jack Flacco says:

    Interesting concept! I have a pair of short by Nike that has a special pocket in the inner lining that keeps the key safe and secure. Should it slip out it’ll end up in the inner lining. I don’t want to know where it’ll end up when traveling along the curves of my body though!

    1. Keith says:

      Lol I guess that’s my concerns with those shorts pockets. And what happens if you fall on your key?!? Anyway as you say it’s a nice idea.

      And as for where your key could end up… Nike should offer a search party 😉

Thanks for your comment!

