Back to the charts…

on

I had to run an errand today and decided not to take the car but to walk.  The Physiotherapist is happy with my progress and  has recommended walking and some small exercises with stretches.

I am unable to do the exercises as they require a gym and I am no longer at work until the new year (that’s where my gym is).  So I decided to walk and just after I got going I decided to switch on Run Keeper just to track my progress to see how far I would go.

I am very pleased that I managed to walk 5K – whilst taking it easy and including a few shops.  I came back feeling ok.  I did my stretches this morning and usually they make my back and leg feel sore.

screengrab

I didn’t notice anything immediately but some numbness came on a little later – this is a good sign though as usually I would finish the stretches and things would hurt straight away.  The physiotherapy and acupuncture I have been having really have paid dividends.  I have so much more movement than a couple of weeks ago.

I shall keep up this regime of walking over the Christmas period so that I in a good position when I see the Physio next on the 6th January.  Then I am booked in for a follow up with some training in the gym – hopefully this will go well and I can get back into running soon after.  The aim is to be running again by the time I reach my birthday at the beginning of February.

I am really glad I walked not just for the physical benefits but also for the mental ones.  It appears that Colchester has gone Christmas shopping crazy and the traffic around the North Station was horrendous.  I managed to lap all the traffic as it was at a standstill.  I heard women in the retail park moaning on their phones they had tried for 40 minutes to leave the car park.  It really was grid locked.  Why does Christmas always cause so much chaos?

I felt quite smug walking around, swooping into the shops, grabbing what I wanted and heading home in next to no time 😃 . I doubt I’ll be that lucky when we head out to get our groceries tomorrow but I hope it doesn’t get anywhere near as bad as what I experienced today.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds like you made a good call there, on all counts. Hope you’re on the mend and back running again soon. 🙂

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you. It does annoy me to see others running but I know I am doing the right thing.

      Thanks for the support.

Thanks for your comment!

