40 (+1 (day))

Now I am 40 I wonder whether it holds as much importance in life as it used to. I had lots of cards telling me life begins at 40 but I wonder if that is an outdated idea.

Don’t get me wrong it’s a milestone and I am very touched by the generosity and love I received on my birthday. However People have been telling me that 40 is the new 30 or the new 20. I don’t think so. I think it’s just 40.

I’ve never been afraid or worried of reaching this age and I guess as I don’t look 40 (whatever that means) I should be grateful. I see it simply as another birthday. One that warrants celebration and one that enables me to share the love I have received from friends and family over the years.

I remember putting a list together when I was a teenager about what I wanted to achieve by the time I was 40. Most of them I forget and if I’m honest the ones I do remember aren’t that important to me now.

Of course the mindset of a teenager vs an adult are very different. I simply appreciate how lucky I am.

I have achieved a lot, have a wonderful set of parents. A partner who loves me unconditionally and close friends who mean the world to me. Those lists of superficial things mean very little as I look back.

I’m not reminiscing though. As my grandad always said you should live for today and I stick by that. Life is what you make of it and I intend to enjoy whatever the future brings.

Anyway enough of the psycho analysis…

I had a wondered birthday and spent a great evening with my folks etc.

We had an early start (4am) before heading home where we made it through the latest storms to meet up with my parents and Richards family.

I took my gifts and cards home and was very surprised, humbled and moved by the love from everyone.

I was very lucky and now have some dollars and sterling to spend in New York next weekend when Richard and I head to the big apple to celebrate my birthday together.

My close friends and their children made me a lovely personalised cup featuring a photo from about 13 years ago that I have never seen. It was such a sweet gesture but reminded me how much I have matured.

20140202-152043.jpg
20140202-152053.jpg

As we approached my parents we could see the balloons and banners my mum had put up to decorate and celebrate my birthday.

20140202-152205.jpg
20140202-152219.jpg
This included a big “I am 40” badge my mum insisted I wore throughout the day.

We enjoyed bacon sandwiches and birthday cake with my parents before heading out too see Richards family. His sister had gotten me a cake too complete with candles which I blew out whilst they all sung happy birthday to me.

20140202-152901.jpg

For the evening we went to a lovely place called Pierre Bistro by the harbour in Plymouth. The stormy weather and spring ride made it an interesting location (the boats were as high as the road).

The food was absolutely delicious and we all had a wonderful time. It was very civilised and lovely to sit, enjoy great food, a good natter and company. It was the perfect way to end my day.

I am not sure whether mum or I had the most champagne but I know it was delicious.

There were lots of lovely messages online too from friends far and wide and I’d like to thank you all for your love and kind words.

I write as Richard is driving us back home and the boot has a very special passenger. Mum gave me my teddy bear where she had been saving for me. He still growls when up tip him up (no smart comments Enda).

20140202-152756.jpg

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mpwilson says:

    Happy belated birthday! Welcome to your 40’s LOL

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you x

  2. WalkToRio says:

    Happy birthday!
    It sounds like you had a really nice birthday celebration.
    Did you end up wearing the badge all day?

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you it was a lovely day. Yes I wore the badge all day but not out to the dinner in the evening.

Thanks for your comment!

