First run in my 40’s

on

…and it felt great.Image

It was cold out, plus very windy and I still have not shaken off my cold yet so I was a little congested on the run but oddly enough I didn’t feel the need to have a drink.

I decided to track the run but not pay any attention to the GPS (thanks for the tip Runners World).  Instead I listened to my body and mapped out a route in my head when I adapted as I went along.  I have now run the longest continuous single run since hurting my back and feel ok.  I am surprised I feel so well as I have not had a chance to run since last Thursday evening due to us going home to celebrate my birthday.

I doubt I will get much of a chance to run in the next couple of days as I have a manic few days in work as I am off this weekend as Richard is taking me to New York for my fortieth.  I am not taking my running kit as it’s incredibly cold and more snow is forecast in the Big Apple.

I did some stretches before I went out today as I had a sedentary day as I worked from home.  I also made sure I completed a decent amount of different stretches after the run mainly as I have not been running for a while.

I am very pleased with progress today and as long as I can keep up this momentum and confidence I am sure I will be back to my old pace and distances. in no time.  I just wish it would warm up (although this time last year I didn’t run at all as we had heavy snow and ice so I shouldn’t complain!).

Follow my progress on Garmin Connect.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. WalkToRio says:

    I went for a long workout on Sunday, no watch, no iPhone. Wanted to trust my body, it cheated on me lol
    Was meant to do 20km, body stopped at 19, then I kept going and made me do an extra 500mts.
    Either my body cheated or the iPhone the dog was carrying was off.

    1. Keith says:

      The dog was carrying the iPhone. Clever pooch. I think we get too up hung up on all the stats. So you finished at 19. Dos it really matter. You can run 19 and your body tells you it’s ok when doing so. That what matters.

      1. WalkToRio says:

        I stopped at 19, took the iPhone out of the dog’s backpack to check the mileage, and decided to keep going, at the end I did 20.5km. But felt really good.
        I’m honestly using a running app because the dog carries the phone, otherwise I wouldn’t bother. I hate carrying more than what I really need. That being said, those apps are really neat.

      2. Keith says:

        Hang on. The dogs backpack? Which app do you use and do you wear it?

      3. WalkToRio says:

        hahaha
        Yeah, the dog carries my stuff.
        I wrote a little post about those apps and how handy a backpack for the dog is:
        http://walktorio2016.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/run-free-tastic/

      4. Keith says:

        Cool 😉

Thanks for your comment!

