Running Recipe: Turbo Flapjacks

I thought I would make some flapjacks as I find breakfast isn’t enough to sustain me through the day.

I remember reading about such recipes for runners which claim to give you more energy to keep you going on long runs. I thought this might help with my issue of having breakfast at 5:30 and being hungry when I arrive at the office around 7:30.

Sadly I couldn’t find the original source so went online and found this recipe on Runners World

250g butter (unsalted)
250g soft dark brown sugar
250g honey
500g oats. Use jumbo oats and normal cheap oats mixed together
125g dried fruit, nuts and seeds.

1. Mix together the butter, sugar and honey, then stir in the dry ingredients.

2. Bake at Gas Mark 4 1/2 / 180 degrees / 170 fan for about 20 mins – if they are thick they may take slightly longer.

3. Let them cool before you try to remove them from the tin, and once quite cool prise them away from the edges, compress the middle to help them stick then leave for a little longer. Then turn out on to a board and allow to cool fully.

4. Finally, cut them up with a sharp knife and enjoy

Annoyingly after getting all the ingredients I hadn’t realised I didn’t have enough honey at home so there’s about 2/3 of the suggested amount.

I also used only one type of oat as I am sure that won’t make much of a difference.

Ultimately flapjack recipes are always varied and allow for experimentation which is exactly what I did.

I added in a fruit mix of cherries, cranberries and currants to see how it would taste.

The mix was hard work (mainly because the recipe didn’t tell you to melt the butter) but I got there and put in a batch 20 minutes ago.

I managed to spread the mix out as evenly as I could and the house now smells of toasted oats and fruit.

20140301-171524.jpg
The tray is now cooling before I cut them up and I am sure they will be lovely.

I’ll cut them into bars and store in a plastic container with some baking paper, that way I’ll have a supply of homemade flapjacks to enjoy.

I will have one in the morning before my run (but not too soon before the run), to see if they give me the energy boost I need to keep going. I’ll let you know my verdict once I’ve tried them.

Do you have any particular recipes you’ve discovered since running?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. frugoal says:

    Looks delicious!

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you. They smell lovely. Fingers crossed they will be tasty too.

  2. Great idea! I’m hopeless when it comes to nutrition, mostly because I’m a lazy cook, but these look nice and easy… and delicious!
    You’ve just given me a new goal for today: make flapjacks! Thanks. 🙂

    1. Keith says:

      They were very easy to make (once you melt the butter) and I have enough for snacks and running for us both for a week.

      Good luck with your flapjacks.

  3. Emma Catlow says:

    Glad you liked the recipe – EmmaC

    1. Keith says:

      They’re great. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Emma Catlow says:

    Sorry I forgot to mention melting together all the wet ingredients – oopsie!

Thanks for your comment!

