Go call Bruce Grobbelaar?

ImageAfter spending all day sat at the desk in the study working from home, I managed to boot down and get my trainers on for a run.

The plan today was simply to complete 5K and I managed that… I managed that and then some!

I listened to my old running playlist today and forgot what gems I had on that list.  There was also some surprises, most notably Britney Spears Work Bitch.

The song came on around 3.5K and I decided I had the energy to push myself to put my foot down and keep up with the song as long as I could.  I found a great burst of speed and energy and used my heart rate monitor to ensure I did not over exert myself.

I really enjoyed the push and the adrenaline rush in the middle of the run – my only concern is why does Britney insist we call Bruce Grobbelaar in the middle eight?

It’s quite cold today so I am once again running with dual layers on – shorts and t-shirt but still needing to have the extra compression layer to keep me warm.I slowed my pace into the final kilometre and as I eased off and continued I noticed I was grinning from ear to ear – I thoroughly enjoyed todays run.  I had no plan, no expectation but I cam back buzzing.

IMG_7253As I type this I am enjoying a refreshing glass of home-made orange, carrot, mango, honey and yogurt smoothie 😃

It certainly packs a punch and I am sure it will give me a much-needed vitamin C boost 🙂

I have treated myself to a new pair of trainers as the soles on the Lunarglides are starting to wear and as I have some races coming up in a month or so I think it wise to break in a pair.

I have opted for a pair of Nike Flyknit Lunar 2’s in fetching blue and green.

I have not run in them yet as I am not 100% sure I am going to keep them…  I have tried them on with my running socks but my little toe on my right foot feels a bit squashed.  I am not sure if I am imagining this or whether it’s just the way the shoes are.

The Lunarglides are much more padded than the Flyknits but they are designed to mould to your foot so I imagine that they will give once I start running.  I could just be being paranoid.  I think I will try them again around the house before I make my final decision.  Watch this space though as there may be a review coming soon of Flyknit 2’s.

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 18.16.58

As you will see from the Nike+ photo above I captured another wild flower on the walk back through the wood – these look like Buttercups but I don’t believe they are.

It’s definitely spring though as I heard a Cuckoo yesterday – I haven’t managed to workout where it is nesting though.

Did you all notice the change in design on the blog (again) – the version before this was ok but I thought it was too busy.  This new layout is much easier to read and transfers well between devices.  I do however have one gripe but that’s probably just personal taste.  What do you think of the new look and feel?  Let me know.

It’s a long weekend here in the UK so I plan to get in a couple more runs before I return to work on Tuesday.  Whatever you’re up to this weekend, have fun!

If you’re stuck for something to do this weekend then why not join The Running Bug Bug Run?  All you have to do is let the Running Bug community you are taking part, put on your shoes and at 10:30 Sunday morning, go for a run!  It can be as long or as short as you like – just remember to post your run afterwards 🙂

Remember to pop by my profiles on Garmin Connect and Strava – why not link up and say hi!

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for your comment!

