Happy With That

on

ImageI have not managed to get out that much this week as I have been quite busy going out this week!

Tuesday evening I met up with Paul, we had dinner and then enjoyed the Matisse exhibition at the Tate Modern.

Wednesday evening Richard, Hannah, Sarah and I went to Lady Dinah’s Cat Emporium for dinner – this is London’s first Cat Cafe and we had to wait a couple of months for a slot to become available!

Last night I had intended to run but I was late home and it really was storm force gales and rain so I decided to run today when I knew the weather was due to be better and that I’d be working from home.

The run was very good today although I was pushed back by the gales in some parts.  I decided to run smaller loops around where I live as there were ominous black clouds but thankfully I got home without a drop of rain touching me.

I considered only running 3K as I had not run for a couple of days but decided what was the point in that and ensured I continued until 5K.  5K is my new minimum and I will be upset if I complete any run in a shorter distance.

Talking of 5K’s I only just noticed that the first run in my Nike Flyknit Lunar 2’s was my fastest 5K time – beating that of my recent best time in Spain 🙂  How cool is that?!  That was a run where I was supposed to be taking it easy and breaking in my shoes!

Image

I need to work on my speed though as even though I have run my fastest 5K I am running a quicker pace at 10K – possibly cause that was a race which included running with Captain Speedy, (Paul) but if I can manage it then I am sure I can manage it in my normal 5K runs.

I kept today’s run steady and although some of the music was quite fast I maintained a rhythm until the end.

Next run I will use my new Nike’s and will alternate between those and my Lunarglides until I have broken them in.  I will next run on Monday as we are off to Devon this week to see the folks – it’s usually such a manic weekend of getting there, seeing everyone and getting back in time for work on Monday that there is little time for fitting in a run.

The next race I have is at the end of June so I will continue to add mileage to my weekly runs so that I am confident with the 10K pace again.

I did also sign up for the London Pride 10K which should be good fun as I have heard good reviews.  Plus I will be running when Richards family are visiting so they are all coming into London to cheer me on 🙂

Remember to check out all my activity on Garmin Connect and Strava.  And whilst online don’t forget to pop by the fab community of runners at The Running Bug.

Thanks for your comment!

