Warm lunchtime run in London

20140709-171850-62330861.jpg
Warm lunchtime run in London (building at the top is my office)

I have not been out for a run since the post run I did following the Hatfield Forest 10K. I’m not bothered by this. In fact it was planned.

I had so much on last week (and was quite stressed) that I decided to give myself a week off.

Whilst in Oslo I decided to put a plan together for the Pride 10K in August. It was only then I realised that I don’t have much free time between now and the race on the 9th.

I’ve therefore decided to complete a routine of three runs a week (where possible), made up of FARTLEK, hills and steady longer runs.

I wanted to start today but a late meeting meant I had to rethink my plans.

I decided to bring my kit to work and managed to head out for a run just before mid day.

I haven’t run London in a while and for a first run in a while it’s one to wake you up!

There is always lots going on in London and you have to always be on your toes due to the traffic, tourists and pigeons.

At one stage I had no choice to run though a group of foreign exchange students who ignored my cries of excuse me. In fact I just made it through the gap in the crowd but had to propel myself by grabbing a guys arm to push him out of my route as he wasn’t looking.

I had another near miss with a child on a scooter who nearly ran me over. Thankfully I had enough energy to doge out the way just in the nick of time.

There was a lovely breeze (or rather wind) along the Thames which cooled things down nicely. It was a warm sunny day (warmer than anticipated) and the trees along Embankment helped cool me down.

All this considered I think I did very well. I didn’t slow my pace much and managed to find a rhythm and got on with it. I did drink all my water though as I think London air and the heat made me thirstier than normal.

I wanted a steady run and decided to head from the office at Blackfriars Bridge to Westminster Bridge. I know from previous runs that’s 4k there and back and that was the perfect distance today.

I enjoyed the run immensely but my socks and shoes felt odd as I’ve gotten used to my normal Flyknit and Roshe trainers. At least the distractions in London give you something else to focus on!

With my schedule I may very well fit at least one run in London a week just to ensure I get the mileage done.

I know I can run 10K but really want to break my PB which is why I’m giving it more effort.

Keep your fingers crossed!

Take a look at my run on Garmin Connect, Strava or say hello on The Running Bug.

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for your comment!

