Westminster to Southwark

I decided to complete todays FARTLEK session in London during my lunch break.

The weather had cooled but by lunch it was another scorcher.

Spot the landmarks
Spot the landmarks

Luckily the route long the Embankment is lined with trees so for the majority of the time it is sheltered from the mid day sun.  There are bits however, near Blackfriars and the Millennium Bridge that are completely exposed and these were hard going.

Whenever I run this route I have to pinch myself as to how lucky I am to have all these great sights and landmarks on my doorstep.  I’d love to take lots of snaps en route but that wouldn’t make for a very productive run.

I found the FARTLEK section very tough today and even though I did as many as I could for the 20 minutes in the middle. I know I did fewer than when I train this way in Colchester.

Not the best photo but that's the Oxo Tower behind me
Not the best photo but that’s the Oxo Tower behind me

I do believe that I ran the fast sections for longer though and timed them so that I avoided the tourists out enjoying the summer breeze along the Thames.

I did snap a photo at the end of the race whilst I was doing my stretches on Blackfriars Bridge.  It’s not the best photo of me but you can clearly see the River Thames behind me and the Oxo Tower.

I am now just over a week until I run the Pride 10K in Victoria Park in London.  My race details arrived today so it’s all starting to get very real.

I plan to complete a longish run on Thursday, a Park Run (fast 5K) on Saturday and then a final run next Tuesday… this should be more than enough preparation for the race on the 9th.

I am not sure if I am going to beat my PB but we shall wait and see.

Take a look at my route on Garmin Connect, Strava or say hi on The Running Bug.

Please remember to vote for me in the Blog section of this years Running Awards 🙂

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for your comment!

