Poppies and Pedestrians

I wanted to see the WWI RIMG_8672emembrance poppy memorial at the Tower of London so decided to run that way at lunch.

The route was a bit hap hazard as I had to divert due to the swing bridge being closed, I had to speed along Tower Bridge as it was about to open and of course there were lots of tourists.

Of course stopping mid run meant I was sweaty which meant the tourists cleared a path when I got to the Tower of London.

The poppy exhibition is breathtaking and I plan to see it again before it is removed. More poppies are added until armistice day so it’s an evolving structure.

IMG_8666.JPG
IMG_8669.JPG

My Garmin again lost satellite reception (and took ages to find a signal) so I relied on Nike Running for distance. It maybe wasn’t surprising considering how many tunnels and bridges I went under.

I was going to stop when I reached 5k on the Nike but let the Garmin get me there (considering all the stairs and stopping I had to do). I ended up going over 5k though and am happy with the effort for a lunch time.

I found some speed where there was space and despite the detour etc I enjoyed the run.

I think I’ve managed a run photo that is quite unique.

I am sure I turned a few heads at the Tower of London when I stopped to take some snaps and then sped off again!

It was breezy along the Thames but not too bad for a lunch time in August.

Stopping and starting so much (and all the stairs) were tough on my legs but I had moments of speed and ease along the straights at Queens Walk etc. Of course I had to have my wits about me and duck and dive to avoid tourists and pigeons.

It was great to unwind and concentrate on something else as it’s been a long week (and it’s only a four-day one!).

I’ll update with Garmin data etc when I get chance but for now the Nike map will give you an indication of my route and effort.
IMG_8670.JPG

Here is the run data from Strava, Garmin Connect, Nike + and The Running Bug.  Garmin/Strava have been updated to reflect the full distance and pace as recorded from Nike+.

Thanks for your comment!

