My First Park Run!

Confidence is a preference for the habitual voyeur of what is known as (park life run!) – Sorry Blur!

Thanks to Richard singing that this morning it has been going through my head throughout the Park Run!

I’ve covered quite a bit of distance this morning – I walked to and from the Park Run which means I had clocked up 6K without even running.

Colchester Castle Park Run
Colchester Castle Park Run

I have been meaning to do a Park Run for so long and finally got my ass over to Colchester Castle Park to join the other 120+ runners who were up early to runs round the park.

I was not sure what to expect but was happy with the casual way it was all set up and amazed how organised the volunteers are at getting it all together.

I didn’t really speak to anyone but I am sure if I attend more I will do.

I was a little nervous about a couple of things but I didn’t need to be.  It turned out I was one of many new runners this morning – new to Park Run in general so I had nothing to fear.

I was also worried about the route as I was not totally sure where to go – my biggest surprise when I joined the newbies to hear the route dictated was that the long steep hill to the castle was actually run three times – I was only expecting it twice!

I joined the starting pack and before you knew it we were off.

There were lots of marshals out and quite a few people supporting runners and true to form there were people of all ages and abilities.  Thankfully that marshals did a great job of pointing everyone in the right direction!

I have run Castle Park before as it was the route of the Santa run – I am always amazed how you can find different ways to run the same distance in one place.

There’s three different looped segments in the park which meant there was a fair amount of lapping.  I am not sure how fast the faster guy was but he must have come in somewhere around 18 minutes or so.

I felt tired on the third climb towards the castle so slowed my pace so that I could concentrate on gaining speed on the final stretch.

It felt so good to finish and collect my token and get blipped in for my time (it’s all very swish).

As you can see I was happy to finish
As you can see I was happy to finish

I do not know my official race time yet but I ran this 5K in 29:04 so I am happy with that (Nike recorded longer as I started it whilst the guys were welcoming everyone at the start line).

UPDATE Results are up already:

144 Keith TOMLINSON 29:08 VM40-44 46.85 % M 107 First Timer! 1

Having sync’d all my data I can also confirm this is my fastest 5K 😃  Double whammy today!

Screen Shot 2014-08-30 at 16.43.55

Happy with that 🙂

I am so pleased I did it today and despite the heavy rain over night and the cold wind today, I enjoyed the run.

It’s so good to see so many people out enjoying such events and to see so many enjoying the park too.  We really are fortunate to live where we do.

If you run Colchester Park Run why not say hello next time!

To find out more about Park Run in your area click here.

Here’s my stats on Garmin Connect, Strava and of course The Running Bug.

Have a good weekend everyone!

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIEsmGzo2UE]

Remember to please vote for me in the Blog section of this years Running Awards (I am just going to keep asking until you do 😃  )

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for your comment!

