Most enjoyable continuous 5K since Spain

The work, the stress and the tiredness has piled on this week but I was determined to run tonight.

I made myself take the alternative route up the long hill and back as I knew this would give my legs a good work out and guarantee my distance.

I was right as I run a good 5k with no breaks, pumped my legs and enjoyed the run.

It was another dark one again and I chose not to pay any attention to my watch but to simply listen out for iSmoothRun to announce each kilometre. Mentally this was much cleaner as I felt good as the number increased and wasn’t worried about how much I had to do to reach each target.
IMG_4206.JPG

I took my illuminated Ron Hill bottle with me and was glad I did as some parts (even in residential streets) had no lighting at all. It gave me confidence I was seen and I could see where I was going (for the most part).

It also helped me to see how I was running and judge if I was slouching or crossing my hands in front of me. It did help me stop this a few times and I think this has helped as my shoulder is feeling ok.

I am diligently completing the exercises the physiotherapist recommended and apart from some stiffness don’t feel too bad. Work stress and sitting at my desk make it worse. I’m seeing him tomorrow so hopefully he’ll be happy with my progress.

My mindset changed tonight as well. I was happier with my run. Was more relaxed and simply got on with it. I didn’t let things distract me and had no fear of the distance.

I’m planning a run of 7 or 8 k for Saturday and this will be my final long run before the race in a couple of weeks as we are in Barcelona next weekend 😄

I feel very positive about my form and happy that I am in a good place for the 10k.

Check out my stats on Garmin Connect.

One Comment Add yours

Thanks for your comment!

