Cold Run Cold Shower

Todays run was cold and crisp – it was 4 degrees out but the “feels like” temperature was -1.

If I am honest I didn’t notice it that much as I didn’t hang around and just got on with it.  I wrapped up well and decided to run 4K (or 5K if I wasn’t too cold).

I had a dip in the middle of the run whilst I fiddled with my phone but apart from that I kept a consistent pace.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 17.00.08

With the auto pause on my iSmoothRun I should stand still to do things like fiddle but I prefer to keep moving.

IMG_0584it was definitely cold as I realised about 4K in that I could no longer feel my little toe on my right foot. I wore my usual padded socks but they weren’t sufficient to keep my poor toes warm 😦

I didn’t see many people whilst I was out and thanks to working from home I managed to get out before the sun went down.

I aim to complete another run at the weekend – I just hope the winter weather (yes it finally feels like winter), doesn’t get in the way.

I know I can run much further than 5K but I am very pleased to have reached it today given the temperature and considering I was sat at home all day writing a report.

I had a bit of a surprise when I got home though.  As I was running earlier than normal I forgot about the hot water so when I jumped in the shower I had a nasty shock 😞  I ended a cold run with a cold shower – it may help my aching muscles but I am not sure the rest of me is quite so pleased (I don’t think I have ever towelled off so quickly!).

Take a look at my stats on Strava or Garmin Connect.

Remember I am running the British Heart Foundation 10K in Regents Park in March and would be very grateful if you could sponsor me – remember every penny (or cent) counts.  Thank you.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Don’t think I’d be happy with a cold shower after a cold run either – it’s the promise of a nice warm bath that keeps me going. Good on you for getting your run done though. Sounds like you’re well on track for March. 🙂

    1. Keith says:

      Thank you. It was a cold one but glad to have gotten out there.

      Am looking forward to March. I should be in a good position come the run.

Thanks for your comment!

