Bon anniversaire!

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 14.16.19On Saturday Richard and I flew out to Paris to celebrate my 41st birthday.  We have been many times before but have not returned to Paris in over 4 years so Richard treated me to a trip to celebrate with lunch at our favourite restaurant Cafe du Commerce.

Thinking of what to do whilst there I decided that I would really be a tourist this time and physically. visit the Eiffel Tower.  I have seen the monument from all angles, seen it illuminated at Bastille and sailed past it whilst on the Seine and yet I have never been up close with it.

So one of the first things we did was to have a walk around and under the tower.  This gave me the chance to meet my colleagues daughter (who is studying French in Paris) before taking lots of snaps of Richard and I with the selfie stick 🙂

Richard and I on our bridgeThe cafe is very close to the Eiffel Tower so we had a leisurely stroll around the Commerce district, did some shopping and some browsing before heading off for lunch.

The cafe which was built in 1921 is as magical as ever and it always amazes me that you can enjoy a balcony seat anywhere in the restaurant whilst overlooking the tiled interior courtyard – complete with tree which is growing through the floor of the restaurant.  The roof can be opened in the summer but as the temperature was around 2 degrees it was wise to keep it shut!

Richard and I enjoyed a relaxing lunch with some lovely french wines, delicious french onion soup, duck, chicken and crème brûlée.  Needless to say we were very full when we left the restaurant and really needed to walk it off.

IMG_0767

We enjoyed the rest of our time browsing around our favourite parts of the city, pausing on our bench on the bridge en route to the Hotel De Ville.  I was surprised that the Christmas tree was still erect outside Notre Dame especially at the end of January!

Take a look at my video as I took some short slo mo videos of things that took my attention. I especially love the video of the child avoiding the bubbles and the joy in the faces of others chasing them 😄

Paris is such a lovely city, very cosmopolitan and friendly.  I cannot wait to return.

Notre Dame

Take a look at my photos on Flickr.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. What an amzing day you had. The last time we were in Paris, william persuaded me (read: forced) us to go right to the top. Well worth the panic attach. The olace you had lunch at, looks absolutely a amazing. You have an incredibly thoughtful partner. Well done Richard. Not that you don’t deserve this. Ivan.

    1. Keith says:

      Lol thanks Ivan. I can give you pointers of the best view of the Eiffel as we have done many 😉. It was a lovely day. Hope you enjoyed the video.

      1. Please do. One year we were ther over the Christmas holdays and the lights were spectacular. Your video is brilliant, you very talented. Ivan.

  2. Keith says:

    You are too kind – the best spot (if you don’t have a head for heights avoid it) is Montparnasee – it’s an office block outside of the city (which the Parisians hate) but you get brilliant views from up there. You used to be able to stand on the heli pad on the top.

    Paris from the Tour de Montparnasse

Thanks for your comment!

