Route or conditions?

IMG_1189Todays route was tougher than it should have been – I wanted to do 6K today but only managed to get past 5K again.

It has been windy and colder than I expected plus I decided to try to run one big loop without repeating any of the run today.

Of course doing this meant that I had to run a few steep hills and I don’t think I was quite ready for it – that or I was going too fast again.

It was another race of stop start stop start but I kept adjusting my targets as I made my way around – some of them worked, some of them didn’t

I think I need to get back into a routine of building up my racing stamina etc with slow long runs, fartlek or hill sessions and some sprinting.

I hope this is just a bit of a funky period.

I did feel a bit sore again and my calves and ankles were a little achy – I hope my Hoka’s are not wearing out on me (they really haven’t done the mileage).

I ensure (as always) that I had a good stretching session when I returned from my run.

https://www.strava.com/activities/268400887
An interesting perspective but proof I am stretching!

Richard is at a golf day at The London Club today so I have the place to myself. Β I did my final chores before heading out for my run, apart from making some lunch I have a quiet day ahead.

As this is the case I decided to treat myself to a nice soak in the bath (accompanied by the light up rubber ducks Enda gave me for my birthday πŸ˜‰ ).

Ahhhhhhhhh πŸ˜‰

Check out the run stats on Strava.

Have a great weekend!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post hope you had a great weekend too. Ivan

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks Ivan

  2. mpwilson says:

    Loving the rubber ducks. Too cute lol

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks πŸ˜‰

Thanks for your comment!

