Quite a run…

on

 

The building behind me is my office
 I decided to complete one of this weeks run at lunch in London.  I hadn’t considered the significance of running today until I got up. 

Today was the 10th anniversary of the July 7th bombings in London and there was a memorial service at St Paul’s today. 

My office is between St. Paul’s and Westminster so security was very tight. In fact I had to walk the whole perimitery of St Paul’s today to get where I needed due to the security cordon. 

Anyway I set out just after the minutes silence and made my way down the Embankment.  The police were checking all traffic which was causing tail backs, this wasn’t helped by what looked like an abandoned van which was crawling with armed officers.  Not the usual sight during a run.

The pavement was still open so I headed down to Westminster and arrived just as Big Ben sounded the chimes for midday.  

I then headed back to the millennium bridge and then back to the office until I got to 5K. 

It was busy in London but there seemed to be fewer people out and about.  I didn wonder whether the events of the day meant people were staying in for lunch etc…

It was much windier than I anticipated today and I had to fight getting through it running along the river to the Palace of Westminster.  Funnily enough I did not feel it at all on the return. 

Despite the wind it was very warm though. I found myself sweating like crazy today. 

My legs were sore and I had a couple brief drink stops but I think my pace was good considering.  I always appear to run faster in London. 

Following my post run stretches it was nice to head back to the office gym for a shower and cool off before continuing with my day. 

I enjoyed today’s run and it has meant it has freed up my evening and reenergised my day 😉

I should mention that I am grateful to the security services and the police for keeping us all safe.  I really do hope London never has to witness another 7/7. 

Check out all the run stats on Strava.  

Thanks for your comment!

