Tongues and fat bitches

  Today’s lunchtime run was very warm and very busy but I did pick up a good pace and challenged myself with a rather haphazard course across the Thames and the South Bank. 

I think I did well considering the humidity etc and was pleased with my performance over the 5k course. 

I had to stop a couple times as the tongue on my left trainer travelled inside my shoe again which was uncomfortable and actually caused me some foot pain for the rest of the day.  I think I need to replace the middle of the shoe to hold the tongue in place. 

I did a good job of weaving around tour groups and avoiding other runners which I think helped increase my speed. 

Annoyingly though I was knocked sideways by a group of runners sporting Goldman Sachs t shirts. 

They were ahead of me and a tour group but we’re walking when I approached.  I got around the tourists and ran between them only to hear the woman shout something and they all sprinted off, knocking the tourists and myself out of the way. 

I believe the words fat, stupid and bitch were uttered as I was knocked across the pavement. 

I don’t care who you are, what training you are doing or who you work for. The pavements and roads are for everyone.  If you really must do intervals and sprints don’t do it on very busy London pavements and if you must do it with manners and civility.    

I’m sure  Goldman Sachs would love having such representatives out and about on the streets of London.  
This sadly reminded me of the bankers who were misbehaving during the Tower of London run.  It’s such a shame they act like misbehaving children and I’m sure their company would not want to be represented this way. 

Check out this runs rather hectic data on Strava

6 Comments Add yours

  1. zokkor says:

    I get so frustrated when people are in my way!! But I guess the pavement is for everyone… Even people with giant strollers… Keep going! We have a similar pace 🙂

    1. Keith says:

      😉. I used to get frustrated as a non running pedestrian so understand both sides of the argument which is why I try to be polite and considerate. My be the Englishman in me.

      Hope you enjoy your trip to these shores. Visiting anywhere nice?

      1. zokkor says:

        I’ll be doing touristy things around London, maybe a run or two at Regent’s Park.

  2. Keith says:

    Excellent have fun.

    Check out Strava as they have a running tour of London which includes Regents Park.

  3. katebean2013 says:

    I sometimes run in the same area during my lunch break and have found that I have to take my lunch run later in the afternoon to try and avoid some of the tour groups / lunch time city runners. Its a bit less stressful for running but not great when your hungry and its 3pm before I can eat!

  4. Keith says:

    I know what you mean but to be honest after 730 that part of London is always busy

Thanks for your comment!

