Why did I think that was a good idea?

My office is one of the best examples of Art Deco Architecture in London
My office is one of the best examples of Art Deco architecture in London

Another day in the office and another lunchtime run in central London.

Madness took over today and instead of turning around at Westminster I decided it would be a nice idea to run across Westminster Bridge and back down the South Bank.

Why?  Why did I think this was a good idea?  I know how busy it is and I know it’s the height of the summer tourist season but you know what?  I did it anyway!

As soon as I got to the end of Westminster Bridge I was on the road avoiding the hundreds of tourists making their way onto the bridge to watch the clock tower at the Palace of Westminster strike midday.

This meant I had no choice but to run in the cyclepath along the bridge.

I knew I would pause when I got to the stairs (why I didn’t run onto the far end of the bridge I will never know!) but little did I know the crowds would be made worse by a contraflow in place to navigate people around road works!

It seemed to take ages to get through this but I ended up running down along the back of the queue for the London Eye before running the back rounds until I knew I could come out at a  quieter part of the South Bank.

I did well and I enjoyed the route today but I did put two bridges in the route and both Westminster Bridge and the Millennium Bridge have some inclines on them and quite a few stairs!

I am not worried though as I think I completed today in a good time and carried on to 5.5K to compensate for the slight section of walking I had to do.

I didn’t take out any tourists today and I think i was very patient given the circumstances.

Dodging tourists and weaving through crowds is good practice for the race which is next week – although I don’t think the crowd will be so slow and I doubt I’ll keep up that pace!

I am sure I can make 10K ok and I am sure I have it in me but there are still come doubts which have crept into my mind.

I plan to run Sunday and hopefully again in London next Tuesday and that will be it until race day which is next Saturday.

Check out all the stats on Strava and this wonderful map which shows exactly where the tourist bottleneck was:

Screen Shot 2015-08-07 at 18.51.56

Oh and one more thing… don’t tell anyone but…

(Sorry had a moments madness during this afternoon and this was the result!)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sam says:

    Good run! Your well on course for next week 🙂

    1. Keith says:

      Cheers. Thanks Sam.

  2. katebean2013 says:

    You will be fine for your run on Saturday! Good Luck.

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks Kate

Thanks for your comment!

