Practice makes perfect

As much as I can I am going to try and take my camera with me every day or take a photo with it (at home) every day.

I’d also like to extend this to learning Lightroom to get the results I want.

I have made a start this week with the following photographs.

This is a great example of capturing something unexpected. I was adjusting my camera whilst watching a YouTube video and saw this reflection. I captured it in focus then cross processed the colour subject on top of the black and white backdrop.
I ensured I went for a walk at lunch on Monday and took lots of photos of the Thames. Most were too bright given the low midday winter sun but this photo of the millennium bridge appealed to me. It worked especially well in black and white.
I have invested in a new 45mm lens for portraits and Tilly was one of my test subjects. I was snapping as something caught her attention which led to this candid shot. I love the detail in her fur from the sharpness of the lens.

Check out more of my photography at 500px, Flickr and via my Portfolio.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    For learning Lightroom, I’ve found this book very useful, and I’ve also talked about Lightroom on my blog, under the Talking Images category – “The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom CC / Lightroom 6 Book”, by Martin Evening. ISBN 0-133-92919-1. Its a big book, and its 59.99 US dollars, but I’ve found it to be an invaluable reference since I started using Lightroom fairly recently. Adrian

    1. Keith says:

      That’s really helpful. Thanks Adrian.

Thanks for your comment!

