Summer into Autumn

The summer was packed with days out, new experiences and the odd bit of decorating.

P8120096.jpg
Tornado Steam Train

Richard and I took a trip on the Tornado steam train from Walton on the Naze to Colchester in August.  The Tornado is a new steam train which has been built by hand based on a traditional steam locomotive.  It was great to have a day along the coast enjoying the sites and smells on the train.

The train runs across the UK in the summer season and the proceeds from the tickets go towards the local cancer care centre.

During the summer Richard turned 50, my parents treated us both to a steam excursion with afternoon tea.  This was on miniature stock in Norfolk and made for a fun day out.  Coupled with a cream tea at the end which made for a different way to spend a Saturday.

All coupled with a cream tea at the end which made for a different way to spend a Saturday. (See video from Youtube above).

IMG_20170905_165939.jpg
Our new car, a Toyota CHR Hybrid

We took delivery of our new car a couple weeks ago, a Toyota CHR Hybrid.  It’s taken a bit of getting used to as the Hybrid engine means there is a new form of driving to learn (plus the move from manual to automatic too).

In a short space of time, we have managed to rack up a couple thousand miles on the clock as we recently went home to Devon and spent the week travelling around Dorset and Somerset with my parents and then back to Devon and Cornwall.

Whilst in the south-west we visited Dorset and Somerset with my parents.

IMG_20170920_145526_794
Portland Bill Lighthouse
IMG_20170920_141641.jpg
Me and my parents braving the weather at Portland Bill
IMG_20170920_211809_292
Richard and I at Portland Bill

I have not been to Chesil Beach or Weymouth for years so we took the opportunity to check out some old family haunts and visited Portland Bill.

My parents celebrated their 48th wedding anniversary whilst we were away.  We had a lovely meal in Weymouth and had a brisk walk along the rocky outcrop of Portland Bill.

I have managed to get into some form of exercise routine but have not managed many runs.  I have instead, opted for the exercise bike we have in the garage.  This would have gone swimmingly had it not broken so we have invested in a new one (which is much tougher to ride than the original bike).

We have also spent some time working on the house and have decorated the kitchen and completely refitted the study.

We both spend more time working from home so it made sense to declutter, decorate and put in a whole range of new furniture to give us the best working environment from home.  It’s paid dividends!

IMG_20170825_193218.jpg
Paris Triptych

I also had a triptych of my street photography from Paris printed and this now hangs proudly in the study.

I’ve been happy with my photography during the summer but am looking forward to the autumn and trying to catch the autumnal glow of the season.  The main shot from this post was taken at Lanhydrock in Cornwall and you can see the leaves were already starting to turn.

PSX_20170930_131232
Montacute House

The National Trust in the South West contacted me whilst I was away as they asked if they could use one of my photographs of Montacute House in their social media activity.  I was thrilled that I was approached by them.

When we visited Overbecks in Devon they had a photography competition, I have submitted two photos and wait to see how I get on… fingers crossed!

Of course, amongst all of this, I continued my Photography Diploma and had a minor struggle with the Harvard referencing system but am not back on track.

It’s been a lovely summer, one where we have made the most of the weather and our location.

Being at home in the south-west at the end of the summer was nice too as it meant things were not too busy and we got to enjoy the four counties without hordes of tourists etc.

Now is the time to get ready for the warm glow of autumn and enjoy everything this season has to offer.

I hope you have all had a lovely summer/winter depending on where you are in the world obviously!

IMG_20170923_071619_272.jpg
Tropical succulent, Overbecks, Devon
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
An inquisitive friend
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lanhydrock Church, Cornwall
3 Comments Add yours

  1. So glad to read your blog. You have an amazing life, and the pictures as always are brilliant. I must say I do like the way you have used red in your home. I think your kitchen lights just add a whole new dimension. Hope you have many happy miles in your new car, William is moggy for that colour in a car. His current car is a darker shade. Thanks for the great post. Ivan.

    1. Keith says:

      Thanks Ivan.  Always happy to hear you enjoy the blog and thanks for the lovely comments. 

      The colour of the car does turn heads when we’re out on the road 😉

      1. It’s a beautiful car. Really is

Thanks for your comment!

